Chatty Princess Piggy Poo

Princess Piggy Poo ChattyOne of the nicknames for a guinea pig is a whistle pig. Anyone who has been around a cavy for any length of time knows they are vocal little creatures. Princess Piggy Poo makes her whistle sound at the anticipation of food, but she has a repertoire of vocalizations. Sometimes, I even think she is responding to my vocal cues.

Our conversation begins in the morning. Princess Piggy Poo and I begin our day with cuddle time. This entails me getting out of bed, grabbing Princess Piggy Poo and letting her chill under the covers. Usually I spend a half hour reading. Princess Piggy Poo can be pretty quiet while I’m reading. Once time is up, I pull away the covers from Princess Piggy Poo and I offer up a silly, off-the-cuff, personalized song. She stares hard at me, as if she’s passing judgment. Even a tiny cavy can be condescending and intimidating. Just before embarrassment makes me stop my diddy, I hear Princess Piggy Poo joining in — a duet if you will.

When I talk on the phone, she always participates. “I hear your guinea pig,” is a common comment from the friend on the other end of the call. It would be interesting to know what Princess Piggy Poo is saying. My guess would be that she is requesting cilantro or telling me that she likes when I scratch her cheeks, but not under her chin.

Throughout the day, Princess Piggy Poo and I will both offer brief comments as we go about our business. It’s entertaining to have such a chatty cavy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chatty Princess Piggy Poo

  1. kramer says:

    How sweet that is!! Princess Piggy Poo shows her true royal colors as she shows off her “whistle while you work” attitude. It seems the Princess enjoys your singing as much as you enjoy hers. It’s nice to have someone to talk to as we go through our day. I too enjoy chatting with my friend who lives with me . . . I can hear her, but I can’t see her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

