Beachy Princess Piggy Poo

Every summer Princess Piggy Poo and I spend some time at the beach. As sure as there is salt in the air and sand between toes, there is A Beautiful Mine, the Mad Men theme song, playing about every 48 minutes as we binge watch the best show ever created. Princess Piggy Poo is happy to slide under the covers and enjoy the intricate relationships of the 1960’s advertising crowd at Sterling Cooper.

Princess Piggy Poo Beachy

I confessed to friends during lunch overlooking the ocean about my Mad Men addiction. We thought it would be a fun game to decide which of the show’s characters we were most like. I started with Princess Piggy Poo. While she is quite the curvy girl, I didn’t think Joan Holloway Harris would be as fitting as Betty Draper Francis. Betty is exquisitely beautiful and aloof. Princess Piggy Poo enjoys the attention she receives for her comeliness and, yet, maintains an emotional detachment. Yep, Princess Piggy Poo is the cavy version of Betty.

My friends thought that I would be Peggy Olsen and were appalled when I admitted I related more to Peter Campbell. Pete has ambition, a sense of entitlement and feels that his talent is overlooked because he isn’t as alluring as Don Draper. For all of the negative things you could say about Pete, he’s one of the few characters who doesn’t smoke. During the first season of Mad Men, I met the actor who plays Pete. He has the sweetest, warmest eyes. When I found out he was an actor and who he played, it was like hearing that an angel from heaven was Satan himself. The casting person who saw Vincent Kartheiser as Pete Campbell is a genius.

Princess Piggy Poo and I have spent many hours bonding at the beach with these flawed and entertaining Mad Men characters. My guinea pig wonders just how many times I can watch and re-watch the same show, or restart the same episode multiple times. This behavior also makes Princess Piggy Poo wonder why she is considered the one with the pea-sized brain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beachy Princess Piggy Poo

  1. carol says:

    I can see you relating to Pete!!! Love that show – plan to binge watch after House of Cards

  2. kramer says:

    The best show ever created, you say??? I watched the first episode, and never watched it again. I should give it another chance, if nothing more than to see how you and Princess Piggy Poo measure up to these Pete and Betty characters. And just who will I relate to, I wonder? This could be an interesting experiment to explore the seedy underbelly of the ad agency world . . . there goes the neighborhood! 🙂

  3. Denise says:

    I can see Betty in Princess Piggy Poo, but you are selling yourself short with Peter Campbell. Almost through with the last season! Love this show!

Leave a Reply

