Sugar Plum Piggy Poo

Every day Princess Piggy Poo gets an organic cherry tomato cut in half, along with her lettuce and whatever other guinea pig friendly fruit or vegetable I have on hand. Because guinea pigs need vitamin C included in their diets each day — and Princess Piggy Poo doesn’t like citrus — I thought the cherry tomato sounded like a good idea.

Princess Piggy Poo BootyThe past couple of months, I’ve noticed that a few days after purchase, the cherry tomatoes become pruney. There’s no way I’m feeding Princess Piggy Poo wrinkled cherry tomatoes, so I eat them. People need vitamin C in their diets, too.

Last Friday, when I was food shopping, I couldn’t find organic cherry tomatoes because in their usual spot was a display of organic sugar plum tomatoes. For a split second I wondered if other people had complained about the wrinkly cherry tomatoes but my attention was quickly focused on the sugar plum tomatos. I liked them. Their plump oval shape reminded me of Princess Piggy Poo. And, with the word “sugar” in their name, they must be yummy.

I’m happy to report that Princess Piggy Poo has a sweet spot for her new tomatoes. Maybe their plump oval shape reminds her of me.

This entry was posted in Guinea pig diet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugar Plum Piggy Poo

  1. Carol says:

    I thought you were going to write that she was turning red.

  2. kramer says:

    Ah, so the Princess likes the sugar plum tomatoes!! I do too. I am continually amazed at the quite varied diet Princess Piggy Poo enjoys. I too enjoy the oval shape, but my true love is the big round heirloom tomato. Whatever Princess Piggy Poo’s choice of tomato, be it sugar plum, cherry, oval or round, she does need her Vitamin C . . . and keep the wrinkled ones off the Royal menu!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

