Princess Piggy Poo’s uneven weekend

My friend, Phyllicity, took in Princess Piggy Poo last weekend so that I could attend another friend, Ray’s, birthday party in San Francisco. Unlike my other piggy-sitter, Phyllicity is a little skittish of Princess Piggy Poo…so they’re even.

Phyllicity piggy-sat for my previous cavy so I had faith all would be fine, and it was. While I knew Princess Piggy Poo would be sequestered in her house the whole weekend, I discovered that she has a penchant for The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, The Colbert Report and Korean soap operas. She even had her furry head pat, when “P-3,” as Phyllicity calls her, allowed it.

Princess Piggy Poo DarkI returned from my fun weekend and was moving Princess Piggy Poo back home, when my neighbor’s daughter drove up and the mood changed. She told me the sad news that my neighbor (her mom) passed away the day before. “I’m so sorry,” I told her, adding, ”I’m going to hug you but I have to tell you, I have a guinea pig in my pocket.” She laughed and said, “That’s the first time I’ve laughed since my mom died.” Sometimes being naturally ridiculous at a depressing time can bring a little levity.

My next-door neighbor, Darcy, was a wonderful neighbor, surrogate Italian mother and friend who always left her porch light on. I wanted to send something to Darcy’s daughter letting her know that I’ll miss her mom. I wasn’t sure if it was proper since it’s bright and cheery but felt it appropriate and sent a fruit bouquet from me—and Princess Piggy Poo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Princess Piggy Poo’s uneven weekend

  1. Joyce LaRussa says:

    Very nice, Mother of P-3! A nice tribute to your neighbor. She was a very good neighbor–such a wonderful person!

  2. kramer says:

    So sorry to hear about your dear neighbor. I think your sweet gift was thoughtful and perfect. I would like to send a special thanks to your friend for broadening Princess Piggy Poo’s horizons and letting her see there is more to life than NPR. Glad to hear I’m in good company, since I too am a little “skittish” of the cavy myself . . . but she is one plumb cute beaut!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

