Think like Princess Piggy Poo

What would you do if you were in a dark cave and a creature half the size of your body with five sharp horns came after you? You’d fight, right? So why did it take me a year and four months to figure out why Princess Piggy Poo bites me when she’s in my pocket and I stick in my hand? Princess Piggy Poo Rapper

On the news there was a dog whisperer type of guy telling people to think like their dogs to correct behavioral problems. That’s when it dawned on me that I needed to think like my guinea pig. There’s really not much to think about; cavies aren’t the most complicated of the good Lord’s creatures. Fear is the motivation that causes Princess Piggy Poo’s undesirable biting. And I know my instinctual reactions to her nips are just as undesirable to Princess Piggy Poo.

Guinea pigs are communicative little creatures with all the squeaks and sounds they make—the least I can do is make an effort to understand Princess Piggy Poo. People say that guinea pigs are good pets for children to teach them responsibility; now Princess Piggy Poo is teaching me empathy. It took awhile, but I finally figured it out.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Think like Princess Piggy Poo

  1. kramer says:

    What an adorable picture of Princess Piggy Poo. She looks like a “mini” Abominable Snowman. I think cavies are just as complicated, if not more so, than any of God’s creatures, and definitely more intelligent than many humans I know. Like Princess, if in fear, I would most certainly bite . . . even the hand that feeds me! Instincts aside, I think “nips” and “reactions” are natural and even necessary in every loving and enduring relationship of any kind . . . it’s the learning curve that differs!! 🙂

  2. Elaine Ash says:

    So now you know, Squeak into your pocket an announce the hand. That, or draw happy faces on your fingertips so she’ll get the right idea!

Leave a Reply

