Princess Piggy Poo aging gracefully

Now that Princess Piggy Poo’s age can be measured in years—I know she’s still young at just one—but there aren’t many years in a guinea pig’s lifespan. My other guinea pig only lived 5 years, the same as all the other cavies in his family.

Princess Piggy Poo Right

Last week I went to the pet store where I got Princess Piggy Poo, and inquired about her parents. Snow White, who I originally thought was the momma, is six years old and Casanova, her dad, is now seven. I had a sign of relief knowing Princess Piggy Poo has a more advanced lineage than my previous piggy. Just to be sure, I’ll have to find out about her real mother (Nameless) next time I buy food.

The guy with the kind eyes at the pet store said he’s seen some guinea pigs live to be 8-10 years old and when I commented how wonderful that would be, he said that it’s sad when guinea pigs live too long. “They get deaf and blind and generally messy and pathetic,” he said. That didn’t seem wonderful at all.

While I hope to have many days, months and years with Princess Piggy Poo, I imagine her staying exactly how she is right now. Maybe it’s best not to think so far into the future. There’s something to be said for living in the moment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Princess Piggy Poo aging gracefully

  1. kramer says:

    Remember: Do not resent growing old; many are denied the privilege. Princess Piggy Poo will give and receive much love in her life to not only Hermommathequeen but to the many of us blog followers. Yes, it’s best to not think too much into the future and to enjoy your life in the moment as much as possible. “Life is not measured by the breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away” . . . MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

