Working class Princess

On a visit when I lived in Manhattan, my friends Christine and John wanted to ride a horse-drawn carriage around Central Park. I told them I was against it. I didn’t think it was fair to the horses.

“You think they should be lazing in their stalls all day watching soap operas?” John asked. He believed these working horses had a purpose in life and they were happier because of it. There have been times in my career when I’ve been unemployed and figured he had a good point but they still rode without me because those blankets on the carriage seemed pretty damned nasty.

While remembering this story, I wondered what Princess Piggy Poo’s work could be. I want her to have a purpose in life and be fulfilled. From what I’ve witnessed, hiding seems to be her main goal, and she’s really good at it. Vegetables are a source of excitement but she gets them delivered so there’s no work involved there. Perhaps I could hide lettuce, carrots, green beans and such around the house and make her hunt for food. Nah, that won’t work because it’s more work for me and I already have plenty.

It’s not easy finding a suitable career for a guinea pig. I guess Princess Piggy Poo’s real job is making me glad I got her. Some days she’s the sweetest little thing and then other days she tries to bite me for no reason I can figure. Her work performance is spotty but overall she’s the best employee I’ve ever had.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working class Princess

  1. kramer says:

    I think Princess Piggy Poo’s job is very important, and serves a great purpose . . . making hermommathequeen glad she got her!! I too have often pondered my purpose in life, and I have my own “grand” ideas on this. My work and/or career I have is not my main purpose, but only one small part of who I am. If you were to ask others what my purpose is, as with the horses in Manhattan, opinions would vary . . . . .depending on who you ask!! 🙂

  2. Maybe she could be official veg taster? Or official snuggly cuddle provider? What about a teacher? She teaches you thing every day, even when you don’t notice!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

