What’s in a name?

Princess Piggy Poo isn’t the most dignified name but I thought it up before consulting the “guinea pig names” websites. One of the sites I found listed the moniker “Princess Piggie,” so I can’t claim I came up with the most original name. (Although, at this point in the history of the world, can anyone really think up a name that hasn’t been used?)

My next pet will be named Qui-Qui. It came to me in a dream in which my cousin, Steve, had a talk show that competed with Conan O’Brien. Steve’s sidekick was a sassy, high-jumping terrier named “Qui-Qui.” As soon as I became conscious, I wrote down the name so I would remember it. As far as I’m aware, I’ve never heard the term before and had no idea how to spell it. My bet is that Jimmy Fallon planted the Qui-Qui seed deep in my subconscious as I was nodding off watching his late-night talk show.

A quick search took me to UrbanDictionary.com that states “Bon Qui Qui” is “a person (often female) who is white, but acts incredibly ghetto.” I glanced at Princess Piggy Poo, and while she is white, and maybe a little ghetto, she’s already formed her noble identity and relates to her royal title.

A little more searching led me to BabyNames.com for a more dignified definition. Seems the name is of Spanish origin and is the diminutive form of Henry. The meaning of Qui-Qui is “Ruler of the Home.” While a name change doesn’t feel right at this juncture, I guarantee you that Princess Piggy Poo is absolutely a Qui-Qui.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s in a name?

  1. Amanda says:

    I like the urban dictionary definition.

  2. kramer says:

    So what’s in a name? I think “Princess Piggy Poo” is definitely the right name for her, even though “Ruler of the Home” fits too. But doesn’t that fit for all babies, four-legged and two-legged alike? I’ve never met a “baby” yet who wasn’t “Ruler of the Home.” No, I don’t think it would be right to change her name now, but I’m thinking I should change my name. My name means “bee, busy bee,” which fit years ago. But at this point in my life, how about “Couto” . . . . a combination of “couch potato”!! 🙂

  3. Joyce LaRussa says:

    Today’s motto — “If you are not happy with it, change it!” People change their names everyday–their given names, the last names when they marry, and given nicknames. No harm. However, you can still call me Mama! haha

Leave a Reply

