Princely advice for Princess Piggy Poo

Every princess dreams a prince will come to her rescue, and for Princess Piggy Poo hers came in the form of Philip at work. Philip spells his name with one “l” just like Sleeping Beauty’s beau Prince Philip. And, similar to Prince Philip who slays the evil Maleficent in the form of a dark dragon, Princess Piggy Poo’s hero slayed her loneliness with the suggestions to turn on a light and switch on a radio.

Philip has been a guinea pig owner in the past, and when I asked him if he was going to get another one, he shared he would feel bad having a cavy because guinea pigs are social creatures and he’s never home. I winced. He recommended I buy an automatic timer for a lamp and leave talk radio on for Princess Piggy Poo while I’m at work.

I’ve lived in my house forever, and wanted to put my porch light on an automatic timer forever, and still don’t have one; but if Philip thought Princess Piggy Poo would be happier with a light that goes on at 6:30 p.m. easing her into sunset and turns off at 1:00 a.m. when I usually go to bed — guess what I got? I felt a tremendous sense of accomplishment, not just getting my ass to the store to buy the thing but also making it work.

The next day, before I walked out the front door to leave for work, the radio went on tuned to NPR just as Philip had recommended. His theory was that talk radio would make her feel as it someone was home. I thought maybe the mix of talk and music would be more entertaining, but who am I to argue with Princess Piggy Poo’s prince? When I pulled into the driveway that evening and saw the lamp shining through the windows, I was thrilled and hoped Princess Piggy Poo was too. It’s still a mystery to me how the Spanish station got on the radio dial in place of NPR, “Cómo, Piggy?” No matter, being that she squeaks in guinea pig any people language is foreign to her.

Princess Piggy Poo does seem happier. I’ve seen her popcorning and zipping through her hiding house with more frequency. “Proof,” says Philip, “that Princess Piggy Poo is a happy little guinea pig.” Spoken like a true prince.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Princely advice for Princess Piggy Poo

  1. kramer says:

    Cudoos to Philip. What a “prince” of an idea. I can empathize with Princess Piggy’s feelings. I work out of my home, and am alone most of the time. I acquired the techniques of the TV always on just for noise and an awesome stove hoodlight for my nightlight. I also acquired the technique of going to sleep with the TV on to avoid hearing the scary sounds of the night, which annoyed my ex to no end. But then he was no Prince Philip . . . just another toad!! 🙂

  2. Whee think Princess Piggy Poo is really piggylicous! I think whee need to wheek at our Mummy to tell her to get us some wifepigs (though we know she will say no!).

    We will just have to admire from afar!

    Piggy Kisses

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    http://hutchagoodlife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

