Time to pet the guinea pig

When you start a new job, there’s always that adjustment period. Not just getting used to the work and the people, but how it affects other aspects of your life. Los Angeles is notorious for traffic so even a 5-mile commute can consume a good chunk of your personal time. My commute is 20 miles and the best way to deal with that is by avoiding rush hour and consequentially working long hours.

My coworker Jenna asked me about my weekday schedule and I summed it up saying, “I barely have time to pet the guinea pig.” Her straight-faced response: “Is that what you call it?” had the few of us left in the office rolling. Now it’s my favorite euphemism that isn’t.

I use the phrase every chance I get: “I’m heading home to pet the guinea pig,” “I have some free time, think I’ll pet the guinea pig,” “Come on over, I’ll let you pet the guinea pig.” In the office it always gets a laugh.

Princess Piggy Poo has no idea she inspired a new euphemism but I’m going to use it until it’s as famous as comparing guinea pigs to test subjects. Won’t you help? Gotta go now, time to pet the guinea pig.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time to pet the guinea pig

  1. kramer says:

    Well, I’ve heard a lot of euphemisms in my lifetime, but this one tops them all. I have to admit that “it” flew right over my head at first. But then . . . well, let’s just say I too was “rolling.” I doubt I’ll get the response your coworker Jenna gave, but I will definitely join in to make Princess Piggy Poo’s inspired euphemism famous. At the least, it will put a smile on my face. You have my sincerest sympathies on your long commute . . . but you do have “something” to look forward to when you get home!! 🙂

  2. kramer says:

    I told my sister about this particular episode of the “theadventuresofprincesspiggypoo” blog, and she laughed so hard she got the hiccups!!

  3. Joyce LaRussa says:

    This one had me rolling on the floor! What a zinger! A good comedian can pickup that phrase and have a homerun with it! You are so very talented and witty. Of course, I’m prejudiced!

  4. Barbara says:

    Believe me- my new euphemism is ‘gotta go, time to pet the guinea pig’!! I love it-how did I miss this story-thank you, Joyce for forwarding it to me. Oh, BTW, here is our new euphemism since we got our cute little puppy, Giovanni. When the golf ball does not go where we want-it becomes a ‘Giovanni’ ball, when we see something soooo cute-definitely it’s a ‘Giovanni’ therefore no doubt in my mind that Princess Piggy Poo is definitely a ‘Giovanni’:) and how I have to agree with Joyce-you are one talented lady-I love ready the Princess Piggy Poo stories inspired by hermommaqueen:)
    That’s all for now ‘gotta go, time to pet the guinea pig’
    Love you, me.

  5. Barbara says:

    oops sorry inspired by ‘hermommathequeen’-so careless of me!!!

Leave a Reply

