Did you miss me?

Last weekend I went out of town and left Princess Piggy Poo with my friend Doug. I handed him the list: cuddle in the morning, feeding schedule, no direct sunlight and cuddle in the evening. The irony of giving Doug a list is that he taught me everything I know about guinea pigs.

I knew Doug would take good care of Princess Piggy Poo, but I was surprised I felt a touch of anxiety in leaving her. It was a whirlwind trip, so I didn’t have time to fuel that anxiety and I smiled when Doug sent an email saying, “Princess Piggy Poo is having a grand time.”

As soon as the plane landed, I was on my way to pick up Princess Piggy Poo. When I arrived at Doug’s, there she was in her newly cleaned cage. I reached in to pet Princess Piggy Poo and she darted to the other side of her cage. “Aw, she’s happy to see you,” said Doug. We both laughed. I swooped in, picked her up and looked her squarely in her adorable mismatched eyes. “I missed you too, Piggy.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did you miss me?

  1. kramer says:

    Oh, how wonderful it is to have a good friend to leave your precious loved one with in your absence!! Yes, even though you feel that “touch” of anxiety, I know you also felt that great “touch” of comfort knowing that Princess Piggy was in wonderulf hands. I once left my beloved dog, Max, in the care of a trusted friend while I was on just the “whirlwind” trip you described. When I got home and opened the door, the first thing I saw was the stuffing from my loveseat spread all over my floor, and the leather torn to shreds. Then, the next thing I saw was my 10-pounder come running around the corner, yapping like Dino from the Flintstones and wagging his tail so hard he could hardly stay on his feet. Like you, I swooped him up and looked him in the eye and said “I missed you too.” As hugs and kisses abounded, I thought of the cost to replace my furniture . . . and I smiled broadly, with a “twinkle” in my eye!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

