Talk to me, Piggy

Funny thing, Princess Piggy Poo has really started to speak her mind. Seems it took her a couple of months to learn that the sound of the refrigerator door opening, the rustling of
a lettuce bag and the pop of her food container are indicators of yummy treats worthy of her squealing with delight. The guinea pig sites call this sound “wheeking.” (The guinea pig sites are into the onomonopia.)

When I’m holding her she makes her monkey squeaks, which the sites refer to as a “chut” or “chuttle.” When there’s a loud noise such as a plane flying overhead or the postal carrier drops the mail in the slot, she makes a purring sound. I consider it her warning growl.

Once I lifted her out of her cage and she shrieked. I wasn’t sure if she was pissed or if I hurt her but I checked her out and she was okay.

As I type this post, Princess Piggy Poo is on my lap making her monkey squeaks. To be honest, I’m going to believe the websites when they say this is a sound that means a guinea pig is relaxed and content. It seems more harsh than mellow to me—like the DJ record scratch sound effect. Wouldn’t that be funny, if some tough, hip hop DJ’s little guinea pig inspired scratching?

Anywho, for the first few months, I just thought Princess Piggy Poo was a quiet piggy, seems she’s found her voice and has quite a lot to say.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talk to me, Piggy

  1. Phyllis says:

    I look forward to P3 dictating her first blog post!

  2. kramer says:

    I am so glad to hear that Princess Piggy Poo has not only found her voice but is speaking her mind!I find it quite interesting in how I have learned here that she and I make similar sounds. I too make a “wheeking” sound when I hear indicators of yummy treats; I’ve been told I snore when I’m content and relaxed, but I prefer a word like “chuttle”; and instead of a warning “purring” sound, I have a delicate “chortle” . . . . as I lock and load my .38!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

